Fargo – Season 1, Episode 2 (Review)

Perhaps there wasn’t as much gore in this episode as in the first one, but it is still intriguing – mainly how on earth Lester is planning on getting Molly the deputy off his back. She’s on to him like a fly on shit, and even though Lester (and even the Sheriff) say to leave her alone, and that she’s harassing him, she is persistent with her questions. Each time Molly meets Lester, he makes some excuse, and initially pretends that he still has double vision. Sheriff, being Lester’s mate, buys this when he is told this, and takes cue to leave the “bereaved” Lester. Trouble is, Lester knows that he did a bad thing.

That Lorne is a creepy character, ain’t he? The way he intimidates people in his one-on-one interactions makes me feel slightly apprehensive, and I’m sat in the safety of my own living room! I’d like to compare him to a bully cat: he stares them out and calls their bluff, throwing in an element of “I’ll-destroy-you-if-you-don’t-get-outta-my-way” in for measure. He did this to the guy in the postal room, and all he was doing was his job. He’s unintentionally hilarious, but perhaps he does have some awareness of his straight-guy comedic act, because when he walks out of that place with his parcel, he tells the cleaner mopping the floor, “You missed a spot.” Oh, and in the parcel we have a book called American Phoenix and a wallet containing his new identity as a Minister.

One criticism: why is Lester allowed back in his house when the crime scene hasn’t been cleared up? There’s puddles of blood and splatterings on the wall – both on the ground floor and in the basement – where the cop and his wife were killed. Or maybe that’s what actually happened, seeing as in both episodes it starts off by telling the viewer that this is based on a true story. (NOTE: I was skeptically of this, so just looked it up… on Wikipedia of all things. Yep: it’s a lie. Just like the movie lied to me; and now I’m a tad depressed as the illusion of that film being based on a real event has just been completely and totally obliterated).

And the episode ended with some guys (below) cutting a hole through the icy ground, and dumping a guy (still conscious) into the freezing water beneath. But if I’m being honest, these characters don’t interest me that much – I’m more interested in the relationship entanglement between Lester, Molly and Lorne. If I’m pushing it, I could say that I like how the ginger haired guy is mute and has to use sign language, and how the guy in the middle (again, see below) has to be his interpretor for people… but that’s it. Oh, and is the guy in the middle one time in Friends? (don’t pretend you didn’t watch that shiz)

…By the way, stay tuned for my review of episode 3, coming to your screen tomorrow… or the next day… or whenever I feel like watching it (I can’t predict the future, or the efforts to not being lazy enough to turn on the TV. Yes, I can be that lazzzzy).

.

Leave a Reply

