Fargo – Season 1, Episode 1 (Review)

If you were a fan of the original Coen Brothers movie, you’re sure to dig the vibe of this TV series. It’s early days (for me anyway – you might have watched all of season 1 by now) but I can tell you that this episode has managed to keep in tact that humdrum mood to it of a sleepy snow-ridden town, plus creep in lots of dark humour to boot. It kind of reminds me of Twin Peaks by how ordinary and earnest all the people are in the town, and how the police force seem to be hapless yet able to sufficiently manage their job all at the same time.

Without spoiling too much, I’ll say this: after Lester Nygaard (Martin Freeman) meets Lorne Malvo (Billy Bob Thornton) in the hospital A & E waiting area, his whole world gets flipped on its shell. Not only does Lorne do something Lester didn’t want to do, but the words Lorne said to him there (and later in the cafe) gets into his head to such a degree that he ends up doing something he’s sure to regret.

…I don’t think I gave the game away there (phew! to you).

I’m interested to see how the series pans out. So much has happened already, and I can’t see Lester working at that insurance company for much longer. My guess is that he’s got to run away before the police catch onto him. But Lester is such a push over – can he really keep this up? And for how long? If he’d of grown some balls much earlier on in his life, he wouldn’t have done what he did. Or maybe it was just because of a stupid washer-dryer. I doubt it.

Molly, the deputy policewoman, is one to watch too. I like her bubbly nature and the naive aura to her. I also enjoyed very much the moment she found out what had happened at Lester’s house that all important night. And just a quick mention to Sheriff Bill Oswalt – shit, is that you Saul Goodman? Um, yes it sure hell is. (I’ve watched Breaking Bad and am now currently watching Bob Odenkirk’s portrayal of Saul – now known as Jimmy McGill – in Better Call Saul.)

I digress. But anyway, I’m definitely going to watch the rest of this season. Trust me: if you like crime drama doused with thick dark comedy, you have found your Nirvana right here. Plus, I hear there’s going to be a second season coming out later in the year, so I’m totally psyched!


(Oh dear Lester – didn’t mama ever tell you never to talk to strangers?)

Leave a Reply

